Alladino

Latest Reviews                      Owners D@rectSawdays

Write a new review

 
 
 
 
 
 
Fields marked * are needed
Inappropriate content may be edited or removed.
Please don't post if you have not stayed at El Monte Bajo.
Your IP address is 54.196.98.96
16 entries.
Hilde Hummelvoll og Petter Nome Hilde Hummelvoll og Petter Nome wrote on 25 July 2018:
Waow! What a paradise!
We have now stayed at Monte Bajo for two weeks - a family of six adults and two young children - and the property was perfect.
The house is a gem with lots of interior details eyes can enjoy, and the garden is a fairytail. Especially in the night when it's lit up by the coloured lights.
In addition you have all the scents & sounds. I'll never forget the evenings when the frogs started to chatter or sing or whatever they were doing - it was beautiful!
We were also accompanied by five kittens and their mum - cat food were found in the basement.

A big hug to Danny who is the perfect host: From the generous welcoming basket in the kitchen when we arrived, to all the help and good advice during the stay.

We certainly dream of coming back.
Clare Clare wrote on 22 July 2018:
This was our second time at elmontebajo and the minute we came through the top door we felt as though we were coming home. This house is more than just a holiday villa it truly makes you feel so relaxed that you do think it is your own home (if only). Once again we spent most of our time at the villa as it is so beautiful and anytime we did leave we were all so glad to get back to the peace and tranquillity it offered. Special thanks to Jose and Danny who are always on hand to help if needed. I will be back!
Debbie & Andy Debbie & Andy wrote on 25 June 2018:
What an amazing week at El Monte Bajo!
We have loved the area for many years and have now fallen in love with this beautiful house. Its spacious double bedrooms all with their own bathroom's could not have worked better for us. The recently refitted kitchen is beautiful with every utensil I could have wished for. The house is tastefully furnished with quality and accessorised beautifully. The outside space was also perfect and we ended up staying at the house much more than we had anticipated. The views from the amazing garden are breathtaking....it really did feel like we had arrived in paradise! We shall miss the little family of cats and the sound of the frogs in the pond...we shall be back next year I'm sure!
luca goglio luca goglio wrote on 19 June 2018:
Grazie mille Danny per averci fatto partecipi di questo piccolo paradiso, la villa, il giardino , tutto è curato nei minimi dettagli, si vedono anni di lavori e ingenti spese e si vede il grande amore in tutto ciò che è stato costruito e in tutti gli oggetti e le decorazioni. tutto è perfetto e tutto è pulito, ben fatto e non immaginerei di poter cambiare nulla. Jose l'uomo tuttofare simpatico e di aiuto in tutto, i giardinieri spesso presenti ma discreti per tenere tutto a posto, l'amicizia di mamma gatta e dei suoi piccoli (credo fossero li di passaggio ...), Danny sempre disponibile anche da lontano e pronto a rispondere e aiutarci in tutto.
Villa spaziosissima e grande giardino con bella piscina, un luogo dove chiudersi dentro e non uscire mai!
torneremo sicuramente.
luca & family
Admin Reply by: El Monte Bajo
Translation via Google Translate

Thank you so much Danny for letting us take part in this little paradise, the villa, the garden, everything is cared for down to the last detail, you see years of work and huge expenses and you see the great love in everything that has been built and in all objects and decorations. everything is perfect and everything is clean, well done and I would not imagine being able to change anything. Jose the friendly and helpful handyman in all, the gardeners often present but discreet to keep everything in place, the friendship of mother cat and her kittens (I think they were there in passing ...), Danny always available also from far away and ready to respond and help us in everything.
Very spacious villa and large garden with a beautiful swimming pool, a place to shut up and never go out!
We will definitely be back.
luca & family
Gill Gill wrote on 11 June 2018:
Having just returned from a glorious week spent at El Monte Bajo, I feel compelled to share with you the delights of this wonderful place on earth!
On a hill, high above sea level, sits a finca style villa, set in the most beautiful gardens. I cannot emphasise enough, the sense of tranquility, space and peacefulness that awaits you as you enter the gate and look down on your 'home' for the duration of your holiday. It's quite simply, breathtaking!
The views of the Mediterranean, Nerja and the mountains beyond, will delight you over and over again. And this is all without setting foot through the door of the villa and the luxurious furniture and furnishings, at your disposal there!
Having stayed in many luxury villas over the years, in different countries, I have to say, this one is my favourite to date! It is equipped with all you could possibly need (with the exception of a microwave - handy for life with a toddler!), to make your stay complete. It's luxurious without being uncomfortably so. It feels like a home and my family and I were quick to settle in and begin our holiday.
Other reviews have mentioned not wanting to leave the premises. You feel exactly like that, except that having holidayed in Nerja for over 30 years, we love the town and all it has to offer and so dragged ourselves away on occasion, only to be charmed all over again on our return.
Cathy Cathy wrote on 23 April 2018:
We spent 1 week at Easter at El Monte Bajo. It was a very sunny, relaxing, peaceful week and we were able to have the family time that we seldom get in London with busy lives, jobs & teenagers! Danny took great care of us before, during & afterwards. The house is so spacious and really comfortable. We had everything we needed there, and indeed on a couple of days we didn't even go out! The garden is beautiful. I would love to see it in full bloom nearer the summer and to also take advantage of the pool. We enjoyed days out in Malaga and Frigiliana, and also had Neli cook us a paella 1 lunch for a treat.
We will definitely return. Many thanks to Danny.
Randi Randi wrote on 5 November 2017:
Vi har nu både i 2015 og 2017 været så heldige at kunne leje El Monte Bajo. Vi elsker stedet!
Det er et fantastisk sted, hvor hele familien stortrives.
Alt fremstår i perfekt stand, poolen er stor, haven er fantastisk og udsigten formidabel.
Vi kommer helt sikkert tilbage.
Admin Reply by: El Monte Bajo
Here's a translation from Danish into English via Google Translate:

We have been lucky enough to be able to rent El Monte Bajo in 2015 and 2017. We love the place!

It is a great place where the whole family is immersed.

Everything is in perfect condition, the pool is great, the garden is amazing and the view is formidable.

We will definitely be back.
Jan, Lesley, Simon and John Jan, Lesley, Simon and John wrote on 22 October 2017:
What can I say?! We have spent so many memorable holidays in and around Nerja over the past 30 years and this year was no exception! The villa – exceptionally designed and tastefully furnished. The gardens – wonderfully landscaped. The view – something special. Although the villa was ‘ours’ for a week, this is Danny’s villa and we raise our glasses to you. It exceeded our expectations on every single level. Congratulations and thank you so much for sharing your piece of paradise!
Kati Kati wrote on 15 October 2017:
We have just got back from our fantastic family holiday of a lifetime! Wow! It was well worth me trusting the recommendation of my friend’s friend... Sometimes it’s just best to keep it simple and follow the energy of things... 🙂 The villa exceeded all our expectations! El Monte Bajo is a truly authentic Spanish haven of peace, an old building with a very good feel to it, renovated to meet all our needs... and more!, finished to the very highest of standards, both inside and out.

Let’s start at the beginning... Nerja is really within about an easy hour or so of drive away both from Malaga and Granada!, so u can go on day trips easily from here if u wished..

The property is situated high up above and slightly out of town of Nerja, a fact which we loved!, with fantastic views over the town and the sea, it’s a a real secluded oasis of beauty and rest... You can enjoy perfect privacy yet r well looked after by the Spanish staff- gardener, maintenance man - whom one can depend on in case anything would need doing/ fixing...but they were really very respectful of our privacy...

With two teenage boys, aged 17 and almost 15, we didn’t really know how it would work out but we couldn’t have had a better base than El Monte Bajo. In fact we found it really hard to leave at all and ended up spending most of our time at the property, sitting at the many wonderful spots the garden affords, reading, chilling or watching the plentiful wildlife... or have a swim in the lovely, generous-sized pool... but if shade is what one is after, there r plenty of sheltered spots outside and it’s really nice and space is inside too to just chill alone or come together and enjoy each other’s company. The lounge we found just perfect for that! Kitchen, and the house in general is very well equipped, en-suit bathrooms all beautiful and very stylish...

If u r planning to have a break from the everyday hum-drum of life and would like to spend some time in Paradise, El Monte Bsjo is definitely the place for u to book! We r also planning to return one day soon! Trust the above was of help. If u would like to ask about anything I said or didn’t mention perhaps, feel free to get in touch!
Lots of love,
Kati :):):)
Zoë Zoë wrote on 28 August 2017:
Second time staying here and again can't fault it in anyway. Most beautiful place in beautiful area. We hired a car this time which was even better. Easy too drive around Nerja town centre and very easy too find El Monte Bajo. Kids absolutely loved the garden full of flowers and fruits from the trees. We spent hours playing and laying around the swimming pool which is more than big enough for 4 of us. Shall be returning for many years too come as feel I can't stay anywhere but there as it won't come close too how perfect it is there.
Karen Karen wrote on 22 August 2017:
Lovely villa with a great pool and fantastic gardens. The villa is finished to a very high standard and we just spent a lot of our holiday relaxing in the villa, pool and gardens - no need to go out with such great surroundings! There are lots of areas around the pool for sitting and reading in the sunshine too. Well equipped kitchen and excellent en-suite bathrooms. We came away feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. Our kids loved the pool especially enjoying going in at night with the multi-coloured lights on around the garden. Would recommend the villa very highly and hope to come back one day.
David David wrote on 15 August 2017:
We have had the most wonderful holiday staying in El Monte Bajo.
We loved the villa, the gardens, the pool, the views, the location and the privacy. Everything exceeded our expectations.
Clare Clare wrote on 20 June 2017:
Just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at El Monte Bajo. From the moment you arrive you can't help but relax and feel at home. It is a homely and welcoming villa. The gardens and villa are beautiful. We loved it so much we found it very difficult to leave. The attention to detail inside and outside is amazing and it is obvious that a lot of time and care has been spent on making the villa the fabulous place it is today. Very easy to find following driving instructions given by Danny. A car is essential unless you like a really long walk up and down hill. This makes the villa very private and not overlooked at all. Just perfect! Can't wait to return.
Peter en Anja de Wit Peter en Anja de Wit wrote on 26 May 2017:
Our family of six people enjoyed a perfect stay at El monte Bajo. The villa was in perfect shape and so was the beautiful garden. We stayed for 8 days en loved the villa, the great view on the mountains and sea. The villa is situated on the top of a hill close to the town of Nerja.
We made many trips to Malaga (beuatiful ciy), Granada, the mountains and seaside.

The villa itself is very nice and offers a lot of space. Large bedrooms with separate bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen.

We strongly recommend El Monte Bajo to anybody longing for peace, great views, luxury and privacy.
And if you should stay at El Monte Bajo make the stunning walk through the river Chillar (Rio Chillar) all the way up in the mountains. Very refreshing and beuatiful.
Jan & Andrew Jan & Andrew wrote on 10 February 2017:
Just the best time-The peaceful and beautiful garden has its own tropical micro-climate as there is a large sheltering wall on the east side. It is a tropical paradise with organic fruit and salad growing in the garden and frogs; squirrels; bird-life all the time. Plus a cat who comes calling for feeding twice a day :).
The house is absolutely beautiful and when you are staying there, it is as though no-one else is sharing your world. We always hire a car and it is only a ten minute drive to the centre of Nerja where there is bustling life, shops and delightful restaurants. We have been a couple of times already and it is one of our favourite destinations. We cannot recommend highly enough if you are looking for the holiday of a lifetime.
Zoe Zoe wrote on 19 January 2017:
Visited August 2016

Absolutely loved it we have booked to go again.

Beautiful house with beautiful views. Everything you can possibly want from A holiday and more. The gardens are perfect with flowers. We loved the pond watching the frogs jumping in and out. The pool is perfect there were 4 of us 2 kids and 2 adults and we all enjoyed it even more so the kids who was in it from sun up too sun down. Beautifully decorated with lovely bathrooms too match. Yes a little out of the way but not too far an 8 minute taxi ride too Nerja where there are shops bars and restaurants too please all. Definitely found a heaven we shall return too for many years too come.

“This is an idyll”

Reviewed by: Anonymous | 5 of 5

El Monte Bayo is just the most lovely place to stay for an entirely relaxing holiday. If what you’re after is a beautiful, carefully furnished and stocked house, full of thought and charm; a stunning location atop the hills overlooking Nerja and the sea; huge tropical gardens with plenty of sun and shade seating and lovely flowers; a delightful pool (‘doesn’t hurt to get out’ was our teens’ comment, and true it was), then look no further.

It’s not a walk to the beach – you need to drive 5-10 mins – but for this you get the view, the quiet and the feeling of, literally, being away from it all. Danny was fantastically helpful both before and during our stay and all ran entirely smoothly. Do take up the offer of the chef coming to cook for at least one evening – paella cooked for you without having to move was divine and delicious.

The house is so lovely and so full of thoughtful and pretty touches, that you’ll never want to leave it. Leaving was the only bad bit in fact.

Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016 | Date of Stay: Aug 2016

“An amazing holiday in an amazing place.”

Reviewed by: Stephen B. | 5 of 5

We are now back home in a very grey and miserable North of England – what a contrast! Lindy and I and all our “visitors” were absolutely stunned by El Monte Bajo and it’s amazing location. Jose was an absolute delight as were all the team who help to keep the place so beautiful. Thanks, Danny, for your immediate and effective response to the problems caused by an enormous, but impressive storm, namely the loss of Wi-fi. We had a great drive back to the Channel Tunnel, complete with a car full of great memories, photos and Rioja!

A terrific holiday in a terrific place.

Many thanks,

Steve & Lindy

Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2015 | Date of Stay: Sepl 2015

“Beautiful property set in amazing gardens”

Reviewed by: Gill D. | 5 of 5

We’ve just returned home from a fabulous week at this villa. We were so impressed with both the house and the garden that we found we spent most of our time there rather than venturing out as it was so relaxing. Our daughter loved the pool and spent most of her day in there. Even I, a self confessed pool phobic, found myself in there as it was so lovely to swim in!! Each day we seemed to spot something new and we have to say that the layout, features and attention to detail are second to none. We wished we’d booked for 2 weeks! We hope to return for another holiday!

Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2015 | Date of Stay: Aug 2015

“Blissful family fortnight in a tropical paradise”

Reviewed by: William M. | 5 of 5

After a long, tiring journey, we opened the gate of El Monte Bajo and immediately stepped into paradise! We have stayed in many excellent Spanish villas over the years but El Monte Bajo stands head and shoulders above the rest. It is a truly beautiful and stylish property located in a stunning tropical garden. The house has a wonderfully authentic feel with each room tastefully furnished. There is normally competition to get the ‘best’ bedroom when our family arrives but this is not an issue at El Monte as all three bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard with equally high quality en suite bathrooms. Danny, the owner, has painstakingly chosen furniture, fittings and artifacts to work in sympathy with the building. Wherever you look, there is something to delight the eye. The garden is amazing with such a wide variety of flowers, fruits and mature palm trees. To maintain such a fabulous green lawn is a real labour of love. As wildlife enthusiasts, we were delighted to observe a variety of birds (including hoopoe), frogs and red squirrels. The gardens feature a choice of seating and an excellent barbecue. The pool is truly wonderful and helped make this holiday very special. There are gorgeous views over the local mountains and down to the sea. The lighting in the garden is magical and with the frogs in true song makes the evenings something special.

Nerja has a very good range of restaurants and there are excellent local beaches including the outstanding Playa El Canuelo. We had enjoyable times at a few of them but were at our happiest back at the villa. Danny’s instructions and directions prior to the holiday were really helpful. We appreciated the photographs that made everything clear. Danny was easy to contact during the holiday and went out of his way to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The website and videos are excellent and provide an accurate picture of El Monte. El Monte is at the top of a hill so it is advisable to have a car. The local taxis are cheap and reliable although not all drivers know how to find the villa. We befriended two of the taxi drivers early in the holiday and used them after that.

We really appreciated the vegetables from the garden provided by the gardener.

Although family holidays can be subject to the odd ‘tension’, I can honestly say that this was one of the happiest family holidays we have enjoyed. We were genuinely sorry to be leaving and hope to return one day.

Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2015 | Date of Stay: Jul 2015

“A stunning villa with breath-taking views!”

Reviewed by: Anonymous | 5 of 5

What can I say? Other than this village is an absolute gem!!

Tucked away in the hills of Nerja with views to die for! It really is a very special place to holiday.

Myself, my husband and two other couples stayed in this villa for a week at the end of June and had a very enjoyable stay!

Gardens and pool: The gardens and pool are probably the most brilliant thing about this property. The pool is a good size and there are plenty of places to relax and eat dinner as a family/group. The view over Nerja is stunning and made all the more beautiful when the sun goes down and the garden lights up!

Accomodation: I was lucky enough to stay in the master bedroom, and although all 3 rooms really are lovely, the master is slightly bigger and has a bigger bathroom, the views from the bath are quite exceptional! The living room is big and cozey and offered some occassional respite from the beating sun!

Location: A car is ideal as it is a way up a very steep hill but what we would do in the evenings (because no one wanted to be designated driver) was to walk down to El Avalon Hotel/Restaurant (about 12 mins downhill) and order a taxi from the restaurant, I also recommend eating there. The food was great and the staff were very friendly!

All in all we had an absolutely wonderful time and would definitely recommend the villa! Danny the owner is also very helpful and friendly which is a bonus! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2015 | Date of Stay: Jun 2015

Guest feedback from   asp_logo_large

“as good as the pics on the website are they still don’t do the property justice’ we appreciate the fact you and Oscar are just a call or text away if we need anything. it’s been a fantastic week here in beautiful surroundings, and not forgetting the fabulous food Toni prepared for us !!”
Stuart – Glasgow, United Kingdom
August 2016
“Just returned from another idyllic week here. Peace calm and tranquillity in a sheltered garden which has its own little micro-climate. Avocados, strawberries, custard apples and bananas all grow along with lemons oranges apricots figs and lots of salad and vegetables, all organically grown. The wildlife is constantly amazing with frogs toads Hawks squirrels stray pussycats with this time, a baby hedgehog sheltering in the cats bowl too! Words are insufficient to explain our delight at staying here again. We just know we are really lucky to have found it! Plus really caring owners. Delightful!”
Jan – London, United Kingdom
June 2016
“A magnificent villa full of charm with an exceptional garden and excellent views. Set 3/4 of a mile up a hill, it is an ideal for a ‘get away from it all’ holiday yet easily close enough to the heart of Nerja (2 miles approx) and its beaches, if a more lively experience is required.”
Alex – Gloucester, United Kingdom
June 2016
“Beyond the unassuming metal door set into a stone wall lies the enchanting finca that is El Monte Bajo. From the top of the steps that lead down to the covered terrace the view of the tropical garden, Nerja nestling in the valley, the sea and the Almijara mountain range is absolutely stunning. Once inside and from every viewpoint the property oozes rustic charm and character. This is an idyllic retreat that has been created with great care and affection, combining authentic Andalucian materials with ultra modern facilities. All in all this is a very special place. We look forward to returning.”
Eric – Newton Solney, South Derbyshire, United Kingdom
May 2016

« Back to menu

Our other property is Al Ladino