"What guests say"

Write a new review

 
 
 
 
 
 
Fields marked * are needed
Inappropriate content may be edited or removed.
Please don't post if you have not stayed at El Monte Bajo.
Your IP address is 34.239.167.74
24 entries.
Clare Clare wrote on 20 June 2017:
Just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at El Monte Bajo. From the moment you arrive you can't help but relax and feel at home. It is a homely and welcoming villa. The gardens and villa are beautiful. We loved it so much we found it very difficult to leave. The attention to detail inside and outside is amazing and it is obvious that a lot of time and care has been spent on making the villa the fabulous place it is today. Very easy to find following driving instructions given by Danny. A car is essential unless you like a really long walk up and down hill. This makes the villa very private and not overlooked at all. Just perfect! Can't wait to return.
Peter en Anja de Wit Peter en Anja de Wit wrote on 26 May 2017:
Our family of six people enjoyed a perfect stay at El monte Bajo. The villa was in perfect shape and so was the beautiful garden. We stayed for 8 days en loved the villa, the great view on the mountains and sea. The villa is situated on the top of a hill close to the town of Nerja.
We made many trips to Malaga (beuatiful ciy), Granada, the mountains and seaside.

The villa itself is very nice and offers a lot of space. Large bedrooms with separate bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen.

We strongly recommend El Monte Bajo to anybody longing for peace, great views, luxury and privacy.
And if you should stay at El Monte Bajo make the stunning walk through the river Chillar (Rio Chillar) all the way up in the mountains. Very refreshing and beuatiful.
Jan & Andrew Jan & Andrew wrote on 10 February 2017:
Just the best time-The peaceful and beautiful garden has its own tropical micro-climate as there is a large sheltering wall on the east side. It is a tropical paradise with organic fruit and salad growing in the garden and frogs; squirrels; bird-life all the time. Plus a cat who comes calling for feeding twice a day :).
The house is absolutely beautiful and when you are staying there, it is as though no-one else is sharing your world. We always hire a car and it is only a ten minute drive to the centre of Nerja where there is bustling life, shops and delightful restaurants. We have been a couple of times already and it is one of our favourite destinations. We cannot recommend highly enough if you are looking for the holiday of a lifetime.
Zoe Zoe wrote on 19 January 2017:
Visited August 2016

Absolutely loved it we have booked to go again.

Beautiful house with beautiful views. Everything you can possibly want from A holiday and more. The gardens are perfect with flowers. We loved the pond watching the frogs jumping in and out. The pool is perfect there were 4 of us 2 kids and 2 adults and we all enjoyed it even more so the kids who was in it from sun up too sun down. Beautifully decorated with lovely bathrooms too match. Yes a little out of the way but not too far an 8 minute taxi ride too Nerja where there are shops bars and restaurants too please all. Definitely found a heaven we shall return too for many years too come.
El Monte Bajo review
“Best-in-class style, location, ambience, privacy, furnishings, garden, cleanliness, views and more. The “great escape” from the real world, especially if you choose NOT to connect to the comprehensive wi-fi throughout the house, in the garden, and even by the swimming pool! Wherever you look; from kitchen to bedrooms, garden to swimming pool, bathrooms to veranda, no expense has been spared. We were relaxed and felt “at home” within a minute of setting the suitcases down. The villa’s design means lots of different, individual spaces … so parents and kids can be together, but don’t need to be all the time, giving the right balance of responsibility and romance! So many different ornaments both inside and out, probably each with its own story to tell, give the property the rustic, Spanish villa look and feel from every perspective. No question was too small when we were making our decision to book, and the owner contacted us soon after we arrived to make sure we were happy and settled in, which was a nice touch. I saw from the guest book that many people return annually, and we now understand why. We’ve already told the owner we’ll be back, soon; very soon !”
Stuart & Ruth, July 2019

Another great family holiday
“This is my 3rd visit to this villa and as usual was fabulous. It’s in a great peaceful location but not too far from the town. Gardens are beautiful. The villa inside is exceptional and has a fully equipped kitchen. Cant recommend it enough.”
Clare Allan, July 2019

“This is an idyll”

Reviewed by: Anonymous | 5 of 5 El Monte Bayo is just the most lovely place to stay for an entirely relaxing holiday. If what you’re after is a beautiful, carefully furnished and stocked house, full of thought and charm; a stunning location atop the hills overlooking Nerja and the sea; huge tropical gardens with plenty of sun and shade seating and lovely flowers; a delightful pool (‘doesn’t hurt to get out’ was our teens’ comment, and true it was), then look no further. It’s not a walk to the beach – you need to drive 5-10 mins – but for this you get the view, the quiet and the feeling of, literally, being away from it all. Danny was fantastically helpful both before and during our stay and all ran entirely smoothly. Do take up the offer of the chef coming to cook for at least one evening – paella cooked for you without having to move was divine and delicious. The house is so lovely and so full of thoughtful and pretty touches, that you’ll never want to leave it. Leaving was the only bad bit in fact. Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2016 | Date of Stay: Aug 2016

“An amazing holiday in an amazing place.”

Reviewed by: Stephen B. | 5 of 5 We are now back home in a very grey and miserable North of England – what a contrast! Lindy and I and all our “visitors” were absolutely stunned by El Monte Bajo and it’s amazing location. Jose was an absolute delight as were all the team who help to keep the place so beautiful. Thanks, Danny, for your immediate and effective response to the problems caused by an enormous, but impressive storm, namely the loss of Wi-fi. We had a great drive back to the Channel Tunnel, complete with a car full of great memories, photos and Rioja! A terrific holiday in a terrific place. Many thanks, Steve & Lindy Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2015 | Date of Stay: Sep 2015

“Beautiful property set in amazing gardens”

Reviewed by: Gill D. | 5 of 5 We’ve just returned home from a fabulous week at this villa. We were so impressed with both the house and the garden that we found we spent most of our time there rather than venturing out as it was so relaxing. Our daughter loved the pool and spent most of her day in there. Even I, a self confessed pool phobic, found myself in there as it was so lovely to swim in!! Each day we seemed to spot something new and we have to say that the layout, features and attention to detail are second to none. We wished we’d booked for 2 weeks! We hope to return for another holiday! Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2015 | Date of Stay: Aug 2015

“Blissful family fortnight in a tropical paradise”

Reviewed by: William M. | 5 of 5
After a long, tiring journey, we opened the gate of El Monte Bajo and immediately stepped into paradise! We have stayed in many excellent Spanish villas over the years but El Monte Bajo stands head and shoulders above the rest. It is a truly beautiful and stylish property located in a stunning tropical garden. The house has a wonderfully authentic feel with each room tastefully furnished. There is normally competition to get the ‘best’ bedroom when our family arrives but this is not an issue at El Monte as all three bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard with equally high quality en suite bathrooms. Danny, the owner, has painstakingly chosen furniture, fittings and artifacts to work in sympathy with the building. Wherever you look, there is something to delight the eye. The garden is amazing with such a wide variety of flowers, fruits and mature palm trees. To maintain such a fabulous green lawn is a real labour of love. As wildlife enthusiasts, we were delighted to observe a variety of birds (including hoopoe), frogs and red squirrels. The gardens feature a choice of seating and an excellent barbecue. The pool is truly wonderful and helped make this holiday very special. There are gorgeous views over the local mountains and down to the sea. The lighting in the garden is magical and with the frogs in true song makes the evenings something special. Nerja has a very good range of restaurants and there are excellent local beaches including the outstanding Playa El Canuelo. We had enjoyable times at a few of them but were at our happiest back at the villa. Danny’s instructions and directions prior to the holiday were really helpful. We appreciated the photographs that made everything clear. Danny was easy to contact during the holiday and went out of his way to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The website and videos are excellent and provide an accurate picture of El Monte. El Monte is at the top of a hill so it is advisable to have a car. The local taxis are cheap and reliable although not all drivers know how to find the villa. We befriended two of the taxi drivers early in the holiday and used them after that. We really appreciated the vegetables from the garden provided by the gardener. Although family holidays can be subject to the odd ‘tension’, I can honestly say that this was one of the happiest family holidays we have enjoyed. We were genuinely sorry to be leaving and hope to return one day.
Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2015 | Date of Stay: Jul 2015

“A stunning villa with breath-taking views!”

Reviewed by: Anonymous | 5 of 5
What can I say? Other than this village is an absolute gem!! Tucked away in the hills of Nerja with views to die for! It really is a very special place to holiday. Myself, my husband and two other couples stayed in this villa for a week at the end of June and had a very enjoyable stay! Gardens and pool: The gardens and pool are probably the most brilliant thing about this property. The pool is a good size and there are plenty of places to relax and eat dinner as a family/group. The view over Nerja is stunning and made all the more beautiful when the sun goes down and the garden lights up! Accomodation: I was lucky enough to stay in the master bedroom, and although all 3 rooms really are lovely, the master is slightly bigger and has a bigger bathroom, the views from the bath are quite exceptional! The living room is big and cozey and offered some occassional respite from the beating sun! Location: A car is ideal as it is a way up a very steep hill but what we would do in the evenings (because no one wanted to be designated driver) was to walk down to El Avalon Hotel/Restaurant (about 12 mins downhill) and order a taxi from the restaurant, I also recommend eating there. The food was great and the staff were very friendly! All in all we had an absolutely wonderful time and would definitely recommend the villa! Danny the owner is also very helpful and friendly which is a bonus! Thank you for a lovely stay!
Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2015 | Date of Stay: Jun 2015
Guest feedback from asp_logo_large
“as good as the pics on the website are they still don’t do the property justice’ we appreciate the fact you and Oscar are just a call or text away if we need anything. it’s been a fantastic week here in beautiful surroundings, and not forgetting the fabulous food Toni prepared for us !!” Stuart – Glasgow, United Kingdom August 2016
“Just returned from another idyllic week here. Peace calm and tranquillity in a sheltered garden which has its own little micro-climate. Avocados, strawberries, custard apples and bananas all grow along with lemons oranges apricots figs and lots of salad and vegetables, all organically grown. The wildlife is constantly amazing with frogs toads Hawks squirrels stray pussycats with this time, a baby hedgehog sheltering in the cats bowl too! Words are insufficient to explain our delight at staying here again. We just know we are really lucky to have found it! Plus really caring owners. Delightful!” Jan – London, United Kingdom June 2016
“A magnificent villa full of charm with an exceptional garden and excellent views. Set 3/4 of a mile up a hill, it is an ideal for a ‘get away from it all’ holiday yet easily close enough to the heart of Nerja (2 miles approx) and its beaches, if a more lively experience is required.” Alex – Gloucester, United Kingdom June 2016
“Beyond the unassuming metal door set into a stone wall lies the enchanting finca that is El Monte Bajo. From the top of the steps that lead down to the covered terrace the view of the tropical garden, Nerja nestling in the valley, the sea and the Almijara mountain range is absolutely stunning. Once inside and from every viewpoint the property oozes rustic charm and character. This is an idyllic retreat that has been created with great care and affection, combining authentic Andalucian materials with ultra modern facilities. All in all this is a very special place. We look forward to returning.” Eric – Newton Solney, South Derbyshire, United Kingdom May 2016